• Adaptation Planning

    We work with communities to understand and manage systemic risk.

  • Risk Science

    We integrate our applied and theoretical research to advance the foundations of risk science.

  • Risks in Complex Systems

    We are leading research in how risk is assessed in complex systems.

  • Systems Analysis

    We are improving how socio-techno-ecological systems are understood to manage complex trade-offs and synergies.

We are an interdisciplinary team of risk researchers dedicated to building a comprehensive foundation for understanding how to mitigate and manage risks effectively. Our core areas of focus include:

  • Analysing how impacts cascade through various domains of societal well-being, such as health, economy, and environment.
  • Developing effective strategies for risk communication and community engagement, ensuring that stakeholders are well-informed and empowered to make informed decisions.
  • Embracing adaptive planning approaches to navigate uncertainties and respond proactively to emerging challenges.
  • Identifying and implementing risk management strategies that avoid maladaptation and unintended consequences, while uncovering win-win solutions through strategic interventions.
  • Enhancing the built environment to maximise environmental sustainability and community well-being, creating resilient and thriving communities.

We collaborate closely with communities across New Zealand, co-producing tailored approaches that support their unique needs and empower them to thrive in the face of future challenges. Through our interdisciplinary expertise and community-driven approach, we strive to create a safer, more resilient, and sustainable future for all.

31
JOURNAL ARTICLES
3.7
MILLION NZD GRANTS RECEIVED
13
RESEARCH MEMBERS

Risk science offers an integrated approach to resilience

Logan, T. M., Aven, T., Guikema, S. D., & Flage, R.

Hard-adaptive measures can increase vulnerability to storm surge and tsunami hazards over time.

Logan, T. M., Guikema, S. D., & Bricker, J. D.

Demographics and risk of isolation due to sea level rise in the United States

Best, K., He, Q., Reilly, A. C., Niemeier, D. A., Anderson, M., & Logan, T.

Risk of isolation increases the expected burden from sea-level rise

Logan, T. M., Anderson, M. J., & Reilly, A. C.

Alyssa Ryan

Postdoctoral Researcher

Email: alyssa.ryan@canterbury.ac.nz

Darcy Glenn

PhD Student

Email: darcy.glenn@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Dr. Ivan Villaverde Canosa

Postdoctoral Fellow

Email: ivan.villaverdecanosa@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr. Logan

Rutherford Discovery Fellow

Email: tom.logan@canterbury.ac.nz

Jack Rose

Jack Rose

Masters Student

Email: jack.rose@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Kendrick Hardaway

Visiting Researcher

Email: kendrick.hardaway@canterbury.ac.nz

Logan Brunner

PhD Candidate

Email: logan.brunner@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Marcelle Scadden

PhD Student

Email: marcelle.scadden@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Matt Edwards

Research Assistant

Email: matthew.edwards@canterbury.ac.nz

Mitchell Anderson

PhD Candidate

Email: mitchell.anderson@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Nohah Forde

PhD Student

Email: nohah.forde@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Patrick Curran

PhD Candidate

Email: patrick.curran@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Portia Sharp

Masters Student

Email: portia.sharp@pg.canterbury.ac.nz